Chuka Ummuna resigned from the Labour Party

Chuka Ummuna, MP for Streatham is one of seven MPs who resigned from the Labour Party on Monday morning. Ummuna, alongside Luciana Berger, Ann Coffey, Angela Smith, Chris Leslie, Mike Gapes and Gavin Shuker will now sit in Parliament as the Independent Group of Members of Parliament, marking the biggest split the Labour Party has seen since the ‘gang of four’ quit to form the Social Democratic party in 1981.

The Independent Group do not have formal party status as of yet. They are hoping to attract 29 more MPs to their group in order to achieve official third party status. The defectors have given no indication they will comply with calls from some within the Labour Party as well as some constituents to trigger by-elections in their constituencies.

Leave a Reply